What is Unified English Braille (UEB)?

In 2011, the UK Association of Accessible Formats (UKAAF) board voted to adopt the new Unified English Braille code (UEB). The UK is currently in a period of transition as Standard English Braille (SEB) is being replaced by UEB.

The Unified English Braille (UEB) code has now been adopted for use in all the major English Speaking countries of the world. As well as unifying countries, the code also unifies subjects. We now have one code to represent both literary and technical subjects. Students will no longer have to learn new codes for maths and science etc.

For more information on courses and resources to learn UEB see UEB courses and resources.

For more information on learning UEB if you can already read SEB please see How can I learn Unified English Braille (UEB) if I already read Standard English Braille (SEB)?

Did this answer your question?

Your feedback will help us to keep improving this website.

Make a donation

Right now we can only reach one in three of the people who need our help most.

Please make a donation and help us support more blind and partially sighted people.

Regular donation Single donation