What is braille?

Braille is a code based on raised dots, designed to be read by the fingers.  The dots are arranged in two columns and set out in various different ways to represent letters and numbers.

There are currently two grades of braille:

  • Uncontracted Braille (previously known as Grade 1) is a straightforward letter for letter translation from print and includes the alphabet, numbers and punctuation marks.
  • Contracted Braille (previously known as Grade 2) has special signs for combinations of letters and more commonly occuring words, such as 'sh', 'ing', 'the' and 'for'. Which can reduce the size of a Braille document by about 25 per cent, and generally increases reading speed.

There are also special braille codes, for music, mathematics, science and foreign languages.

The UK has recently adopted a revised Braille code known as Unified English Braille code (UEB) which is replacing Standard English Braille (SEB) 

More information is available on our braille and other tactile codes webpage.

You you need further information or advice you can contact our Helpline:

Did this answer your question?

Your feedback will help us to keep improving this website.

Make a donation

Right now we can only reach one in three of the people who need our help most.

Please make a donation and help us support more blind and partially sighted people.

Regular donation Single donation