What is glaucoma?

Glaucoma is the name given to a group of eye conditions which cause optic nerve damage and can affect your vision. Glaucoma damages the optic nerve at the point where it leaves your eye.

There are four types of glaucoma, the most common of which is primary open angle glaucoma (POAG) or chronic glaucoma. If you have POAG your peripheral vision, which is the vision you have around the edge of what you are looking directly at, gradually gets worse.

More information can be found our glaucoma web page.

We also have a glaucoma leaflet, part of our Understanding series:

For more information and advice about glaucoma and other eye conditions please contact our Helpline:

Did this answer your question?

Your feedback will help us to keep improving this website.

Make a donation

Right now we can only reach one in three of the people who need our help most.

Please make a donation and help us support more blind and partially sighted people.

Regular donation Single donation